1. Acknowledgements

Data collection

NSW Midwives Data Collection Elvis Maio

NSW hospitals' midwives and independent midwives

NSW hospitals' medical record departments

NSW Register of Congenital Conditions Susan Travis, Christine Erratt

NSW Register of Congenital Conditions Advisory Committee NSW hospitals' midwives, doctors, and cytogenetic laboratories

Medical record departments, particularly at The Children's Hospital at Westmead,

The Sydney Children's Hospital and The John Hunter Hospital

Maternal death reviews NSW Maternal and Perinatal Committee

Perinatal death reviews Hospital morbidity and mortality review committees, Perinatal Outcomes Working

Party, NSW Maternal and Perinatal Committee

Record linkage Centre for Health Record Linkage

Preparation of linked datasets Ms Kim Lim
Report preparation Lee Taylor
Editor Lee Taylor

NSW Maternal and Perinatal Committee, 2009

Prof W Walters (Chair), Dr Susan Arbuckle, Prof Michael Bennett, Dr Andrew Berry, Dr Paul Bloomfield, Ms Sandie Bredemeyer, A/Prof Pat Brodie, Dr Andrew Child, A/Prof Hanna Dahlen, Dr John Hobbs, Ms Ann Kinnear, Dr Elisabeth Murphy, Dr Louise Newman, Ms Karolina Petrovska, Dr John Smoleniec, Ms Jo Tilly, Dr Lee Taylor, A/Prof Debra Thoms, Prof Brian Trudinger, Dr Ross Wilson.

NSW Birth Defects Register Advisory Committee, 2009

Dr Kristine Barlow–Stewart (chair), Dr Susan Arbuckle, Dr Andrew Berry, Prof David Ellwood, Dr Debra Kennedy, Dr Robert Ogle, Mrs Dianne Petrie, Prof David Sillence, Mr Alex Kovacic., Dr Elizabeth Sullivan, Dr Lee Taylor, Ms Susan Travis, Prof Ron Trent, Dr Anne Turner, Dr Michael Walsh, Dr Bridget Wilcken, Ms Kate Winston–Smith.