

Changing of the guard at GGSSA

The Ground Geophysical Survey Safety Association (GGSSA) was formed in 2011 by a passionate group of people from CGG Ground Geophysics, GPX Surveys, Search Exploration Services, Zonge Engineering & Research Organization and Riotinto Exploration. The original aims of the Association were to develop industry guidelines for the conduct of electrical geophysical surveys and to foster a culture of safety awareness in the mineral geophysics industry.

The founding members of the executive committee of the GGSSA (pictured below) were Kelly Keates, Theo Aravanis, Katherine McKenna, Phil Palmer and Kathlene Oliver, all of whom gave their time generously to the fledgling Association and created a strategy for it to grow and deliver on its aims.

The founders of the GGSSA have now all retired from the active management of the

Association, after significant contributions, in order to pursue their busy careers and to make way for a new executive committee. The current Executive Committee and Members of the GGSSA would like to take this opportunity to thank them for their hard work and service to our profession. Our vision is to build on the legacy of the founders and continue to have a positive influence on the safety of all workers in the exploration/mining geophysics profession.

If you think your company might be interested in becoming a member of GGSSA ...

Membership fees for the GGSSA are inexpensive and are designed to cover the costs of collecting monthly safety statistics from our industry and distributing them (in an anonymous, de-identified format) to our membership.

The Association has also developed substantial guidelines for electrical geophysics for its Members and has prepared information briefings on important subjects relating to safety in mineral geophysics operations. If you would like to be part of the GGSSA - to help develop new guidelines, or to get help with your own operating procedures - please contact us.

GGSSA Executive Committee Mike Enright (Chair, Rio Tinto Exploration) Greg Cant (Anglogold Ashanti) Andrew Duncan (ElectroMagnetic Imaging Technology) Trent Retallick (Gap Geophysics) www.ggssa.org info@ggssa.org



The founding executive of the GGSSA: (L to R) Kelly Keates, Theo Aravanis, Katherine McKenna, Phil Palmer and Kathlene Oliver.