Geologically Storing Carbon

Hardback - August 2014 - AU $140.00

eBook - August 2014 - eRetailers Google Books Kobo

A detailed account of the CO2CRC Otway Project, Australia's first demonstration of the deep geological storage or geosequestration of carbon dioxide.

Carbon capture and geological storage (CCS) is presently the only way that we can make deep cuts in emissions from fossil fuel-based, large-scale sources of CO2 such as power stations and industrial plants. But if this technology is to be acceptable to the community, it is essential that it is credibly demonstrated by world-class scientists and engineers in an open and transparent manner at a commercially significant scale. The aim of the Otway Project was to do just this. + Full description

Geologically Storing Carbon provides a detailed account of the CO2CRC Otway Project, one of the most comprehensive demonstrations of the deep geological storage or geosequestration of carbon dioxide undertaken anywhere. This book of 18 comprehensive chapters written by leading experts in the field is concerned with outstanding science, but it is not just a collection of scientific papers – it is about 'learning by doing'. For example, it explains how the project was organised, managed, funded and constructed, as well as the approach taken to community issues, regulations and approvals. It also describes how to understand the site: Are the rocks mechanically suitable? Will the CO2 leak? Is there enough storage capacity? Is monitoring effective?

This is the book for geologists, engineers, regulators, project developers, industry, communities or anyone who wants to better understand how a carbon storage project really 'works'. It is also for people concerned with obtaining an in-depth appreciation of one of the key technology options for decreasing greenhouse emissions to the atmosphere.

- Short description


Hardback | August 2014 | $140.00
ISBN: 9781486302307 | 408 pages | 275 x 210 mm
Publisher: CSIRO Publishing
Colour photographs, Line Art

ePDF | August 2014
ISBN: 9781486302314
Publisher: CSIRO Publishing
Available from eRetailers


Foreword 1
Foreword 2

Chapter 1 Developing the Project
Chapter 2 Communications and the Otway Project
Chapter 3 Government approvals
Chapter 4 Design and operational considerations
Chapter 5 Characterising the storage site
Chapter 6 Evaluating CO2 column height retention of cap rocks
Chapter 7 Geomechanical investigations
Chapter 8 Containment risk assessment
Chapter 9 Monitoring and verification
Chapter 10 2D and 3D seismic investigations for Stages 1 and 2C
Chapter 11 Seismic and microseismic monitoring
Chapter 12 Monitoring the geochemistry of reservoir fluids
Chapter 13 Monitoring groundwaters
Chapter 14 Soil gas monitoring
Chapter 15 Atmospheric monitoring
Chapter 16 Reservoir engineering for Stage 1
Chapter 17 CO2CRC Otway Stage 2B residual saturation and dissolution test
Chapter 18 What was learned from the Otway Project?


View the full table of contents.


Peter Cook CBE FTSE is a leading geologist and a Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne (the University established the Peter Cook Centre for CCS Research in 2012). Previously he was the Foundation CEO of the Cooperative Research Centre for Greenhouse Gas Technologies (CO2CRC) and in 2004 first developed the concept of the CO2CRC Otway Project. Previously he was Director of the British Geological Survey. Professor Cook was Coordinating Lead Author of the IPCC Special Volume on CCS and has published many papers, articles and books on resource, energy and environmental issues. His book Clean Energy, Climate and Carbon was published in 2012.

Contributors: Colin Allison, Ian S Black, Chris Boreham, Mark Bunch, Eva Caspari, Tess Dance, Patrice de Caritat, Thomas M Daley, Richard (Ric) Daniel, Craig Dugan, Jonathan Ennis-King, David Etheridge, Paul Fraser, Barry M Freifeld, Boris Gurevich, Ralf Haese, Allison Hortle, Charles Jenkins, John Kaldi, Anton Kepic, Dirk Kirste, Paul Krummel, Maxim Lebedev, Malcolm J Lees, Ray Leuning, Zoe Loh, Ashok Luhar, Lincoln Paterson, Roman Pevzner, Matthias Raab, Namiko Ranasinghe, Ulrike Schacht, Sandeep Sharma, Valeriya Shulakova, Anthony Siggins, Rajindar Singh, Darren Spencer, Linda Stalker, Paul Steele, Tony Steeper, Eric Tenthorey, Milovan Urosevic, Maxwell N Watson, Steve Zegelin.