Emu Emu  Society
Journal of BirdLife Australia

Editorial Structure

Editorial Board

The Editor and an Editorial Board are appointed jointly by BirdLife Australia and CSIRO Publishing. All submissions to Emu are assessed initially by the Editor and, if considered to lie within the journal´s scope and to be of sufficient quality, are sent for external peer review, in consultation with members of the Editorial Board. This board comprises scientists and researchers whose expertise spans topics relevant to the journal´s scope. Associate Editors make recommendations about publication of papers in the journal but the final decision is the responsibility of the Editor.


Associate Editors

  • Lee Astheimer, Deakin University, Australia
  • Christa Beckmann, Deakin University, Australia
  • Allan Burbidge, WA Department of Environment and Conservation, Australia
  • Theresa Burg, Lethbridge University, Canada
  • Mike Cherry, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
  • John Cockrem, Massey University, New Zealand
  • Kaspar Delhey, Monash University, Australia
  • John Ewen, Institute of Zoology, UK
  • Dianne Gleeson, University of Canberra, Australia
  • Jon Green, University of Liverpool, UK
  • Birgita Hansen, Federation University, Australia
  • Rob Heinsohn, Australian National University, Australia
  • Darryl Jones, Griffith University, Australia
  • Leo Joseph, Australian National Wildlife Collection, Australia
  • Richard Kingsford, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Sonia Kleindorfer, Flinders University, Australia
  • Mike Lawes, Charles Darwin University, Australia
  • Matt Low, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden
  • Golo Maurer, Birds Australia, Australia
  • Paul McDonald, University of New England, Australia
  • Andrew McKechnie, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Anne Peters, Monash University, Australia
  • Richard Phillips, British Antarctic Survey, UK
  • Theunis Piersma, Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ)/University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  • Stephen Pruett-Jones, University of Chicago, USA
  • Danny Rogers, Arthur Rylah Institute for Environmental Research, Australia
  • Cornelia Voigt, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Mike Webster, Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology, USA
  • Pablo Yorio, Centro Nacional Patagónico, Argentina

Book Reviews Editor

  • Anastasia Dalziell, Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology, USA

Statistical Consultant

  • Ross Cunningham, Australian National University, Australia


Emu is published by CSIRO Publishing on behalf of BirdLife Australia.

Emu Award winner

Congratulations to Gemma Carroll, winner of the 2015 Emu – Austral Ornithology Research Award.