Australian Journal of Primary Health Australian Journal of Primary Health Society
The issues influencing community health services and primary health care

Editorial Structure

Acceptance of papers for the Australian Journal of Primary Health is managed by the Editorial Panel and supported by an Editorial Board.

The journal regularly publishes special issues that examine themes of interest. For these issues the Editors engage guest editors who specialise in the area.


  • Amanda Kenny is Professor of Rural and Regional Nursing, LaTrobe Rural Health School at La Trobe University, Bendigo. Her clinical background is as a nurse and midwife, and she holds a PhD in public health policy. Her active research currently includes rural health service delivery and chronic disease management in rural communities.

  • Virginia Lewis is Director at the Australian Institute for Primary Care & Ageing (AIPCA) and Head of the Centre for Health Systems Development (CHSD). Virginia´s academic research has been focused on social psychology, concerned particularly with attitude measurement and attitude-behaviour theory. Her main job is being a health services researcher and she has extensive experience in questionnaire design, construction and analysis.

Editorial Panel

  • Lauren Ball is an NH&MRC Early Career Research Fellow at Griffith University and Visiting Research Fellow at the University of Cambridge (UK). Her clinical background is as an Accredited Practising Dietitian, and her research interests include the prevention and management of chronic disease, knowledge translation, and interdisciplinary care. Her particular focus is on supporting primary health care professionals to confidently provide evidence-based, effective nutrition care to patients.

  • Sarah Dennis is a senior lecturer in physiotherapy and Director of Honours in the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Sydney. Her research interests include are in the prevention, diagnosis and management of chronic conditions. The focus of this research is in the context of the role of allied health, equity and access, integration of care across health sectors and health literacy.

  • Sarah Larkins is a GP and Director of Research and Postgraduate Education at the College of Medicine and Dentistry, James Cook University. Her research interests include socially accountable medical education, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and community/health sector partnerships. Her particular focus is on collaborating to improve equity in health care services for underserved populations.

  • David Paul is the Associate Dean, Aboriginal Health in the School of Medicine Fremantle at the University of Notre Dame Australia. His research interests include building the capacity of future health professionals to work more effectively with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, factors which influence health and health care disparities, Aboriginal community control in Aboriginal health and primary health care.

  • Geoffrey Spurling is Senior Lecturer at the Primary Care Clinical Unit at The University of Queensland. He has an MPH and has submitted his PhD in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander primary health care. He spends half his time in academia and the other half working as a general practitioner at the Inala Indigenous Health Service in Brisbane. His research interests include Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health service delivery, underserved communities, antibiotic stewardship, and quality use of medicines.

Editorial Board

  • Fran Baum, Southgate Institute of Health, Society and Equity, Flinders University, Adelaide
  • Jacqueline Cumming, Health Services Research Centre, School of Government, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Philip Davies, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health & Medical Services, Fiji
  • Jeannie Haggerty, Department of Family Medicine, McGill University, Montréal
  • Elizabeth Halcomb, School of Nursing, University of Wollongong
  • Elizabeth Harris, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity, University of New South Wales, Sydney
  • Lisa Jamieson, Australian Research Centre for Population Oral Health, University of Adelaide
  • Libby Kalucy, OAM, Flinders University, Adelaide
  • Sharon Lawn, Flinders Human Behaviour and Health Research Unit, Flinders University, Adelaide
  • Vivian Lin, Division of Health Systems Western Pacific Regional Office of the World Health Organization, Manila
  • Caroline Morris, Department of Primary Health Care & General Practice, University of Otago, Wellington
  • Alan Shiell, Department of Public Health, La Trobe University, Melbourne
  • Hal Swerisson, La Trobe University, Melbourne
  • Rae Walker, La Trobe University, Melbourne

Social Media Editor

  • Nerida Hyett, La Trobe Rural Health School, La Trobe University, Bendigo

Executive Officer


Submit Article

Use the online submission system to send us your manuscript.

Best Paper Award

Nicholas Elmitt has been awarded the Best Paper Award for 2017.