## H<sub>I</sub> in the Local Universe II

# Proceedings of a Workshop held in

Melbourne on 28–30 September 1998



### Foreword

This edition of PASA contains a selection of articles presented at a workshop on 'Hı in the Local Universe' held in Melbourne from 28–30 September 1998. The workshop followed the very successful one held in Sydney in May 1996 (see PASA Volume 14, Number 1, 1997). The focus of the workshop was on new scientific results on the distribution of Hı in nearby galaxies, though the distribution of Milky Way High Velocity Clouds and local Lyman- $\alpha$  clouds was also discussed. Part of the motivation for the workshop was to present the first scientific results from the new 21-cm multibeam receiver on the Parkes radio telescope.

The workshop covered a wide range of topics including H<sub>I</sub> observations in the Zone of Avoidance, mass functions, theoretical models, different galaxy populations especially low surface brightness galaxies, observations at other wavelengths and future observational possibilities.

Participants included astronomers from the USA, Canada, UK, Mexico, The Netherlands, Italy, India and Germany, all of whom made exciting contributions to the workshop. Apart from sampling the local cuisine in Melbourne, partipants were also treated to public lectures by Professor Riccardo Giaconni (ESO) on the 'First Results from the VLT Commissioning' and Professor Ed Stone (JPL) talking about 'Mars and the Search for Life Elsewhere'.

All papers in this special issue have been referred in accordance with the policies of *PASA*. Editors for this issue were Lister Staveley-Smith, Michelle Storey and Rachel Webster.

Rachel Webster University of Melbourne 2 Foreword

### List of Participants

Name	Email	Institution
David Barnes	David.Barnes@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)
Frank Briggs	fbriggs@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen
Ragbir Bhathal	r.bhathal@uws.edu.au	University of Western Sydney, Nepean
Claude Carignan	claude@astro.umontreal.ca	University of Montreal
Jayaram Chengalur	chengalur@ncra.tifr.res.in	NCRA/TIFR, India
Erwin de Blok	edeblok@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne
Mike Disney	Mike.Disney@astro.cf.ac.uk	University of Wales, Cardiff
Ron Ekers	rekers@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)
Ken Freeman	kcf@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra
Tracey Getts	tgetts@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)/Macquarie Univ.
Raymond Haynes	rhaynes@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)
Trish Henning	henning@tinsley.phys.unm.edu	University of New Mexico
Walter Huchtmeier	huchtmeier@mpifr-bonn.mpg.de	MPI fuer Radio Astronomie, Bonn
Judith Irwin	irwin@astro.queensu.ca	Queen's Univ., Canada/NCRA, India
Sebastian Juraszek	sjurasze@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)/Univ. Sydney
Helmut Jerjen	jerjen@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra
Virginia Kilborn	vkilborn@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne
Pat Knezek	pmk@pha.jhu.edu	The Johns Hopkins University
Renee Kraan-Korteweg	kraan@astro.ugto.mx	Univ. de Guanajuato, Mexico
Malte Marquarding	mmarquar@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne
Robert Minchin	r.minchin@astro.cf.ac.uk	University of Wales, Cardiff
Jeremy Mould	director@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra
Paul Nulsen	pejn@uow.edu.au	University of Wollongong
Jess O'Brien	jobrien@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne
Tom Oosterloo	toosterl@ifctr.mi.cnr.it	Istituto di Fisica Cosmica
Marc Price	mprice@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Parkes)
Mary Putman	putman@mso.anu.edu.au	MSSSO, Canberra
Andrew Rivers	andyr@as.unm.edu	University of New Mexico
Stuart Ryder	sryder@jach.hawaii.edu	Joint Astronomy Center, Hawaii
Elaine Sadler	ems@physics.usyd.edu.au	University of Sydney
Anja Schroeder	aschroed@atnf.csiro.au	National Central Univ., Taiwan/ATNF
Mike Shull	mshull@casa.colorado.edu	University of Colorado
David Sprayberry	dsprayberry@keck.hawaii.edu	Keck Observatory, Hawaii
Lister Staveley-Smith	lstavele@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Epping)
Ian Stewart	istewart@atnf.csiro.au	ATNF (Parkes)
Frank Stootman	f.stootman@uws.edu.au	University of Western Sydney, Nepean
Rob Swaters	swaters@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen
Thijs van der Hulst	vdhulst@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen
Wilfred Walsh	wwalsh@astro.uni-bonn.de	Radioastr. Inst., Univ. Bonn
Fabian Walter	walter@astro.uni-bonn.de	Radioastr. Inst., Univ. Bonn
Meryl Waugh	mwaugh@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne
Rachel Webster	rwebster@physics.unimelb.edu.au	University of Melbourne
Eric Wilcots	ewilcots@rainier.astro.wisc.edu	University of Wisconsin, Madison
Martin Zwaan	zwaan@astro.rug.nl	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen

#### Acknowledgments

This meeting was supported by the Australia Telescope National Facility, the University of Western Sydney and the University of Melbourne. The Local Organising Committee and the Scientific Organising Committee both contributed to a very successful and friendly meeting.

 $Scientific\ Organising\ Committee$ 

Mike Disney Ken Freeman Trish Henning Ofer Lahav

Lister Staveley-Smith (co-chair) Rachel Webster (co-chair)

Local Organising Committee

Erwin de Blok Virginia Kilborn Malte Marquarding Mary Putman

Rachel Webster (chair)