1. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Data collection

NSW Midwives Data Collection	Margy Pym
	NSW hospitals' midwives and independent midwives
	NSW hospitals' medical record departments
NSW Birth Defects Register	Susan Travis, Christine Erratt
	NSW Birth Defects Register Advisory Committee
	NSW hospitals' midwives, doctors, and cytogenetic laboratories
	Medical record departments, particularly at The Children's Hospital at Westmead, The Sydney Children's Hospital and The John Hunter Hospital
Neonatal Intensive Care Units (NICUS)	
Data Collection	Barbara Bajuk, Trina Vincent
	Directors and Clinical Audit Officers of the 10 neonatal intensive care units and the four level four (non-tertiary) hospitals; liaison officers in hospitals in NSW and ACT who have provided maternal and neonatal data.
Maternal death reviews	NSW Maternal and Perinatal Committee
Perinatal death reviews	Hospital morbidity and mortality review committees
	Perinatal Outcomes Working Party, NSW Maternal and Perinatal Committee
Linked NSW Midwives Data Collection– NSW Inpatient Statistics Collection	Kim Lim

Report preparation

Lee Taylor, Barbara Bajuk, Trina Vincent.

Editors

Lee Taylor, Barbara Bajuk, Trina Vincent and Michael Giffin

NSW Maternal and Perinatal Committee, 2004

Prof William Walters (chair), Ms Suellen Allen, Dr Susan Arbuckle, A/Prof Kathy Baker, Ms Claire Bell, Ms Melinda Bell, Prof Michael Bennett, Dr Andrew Berry, Ms Pat Brodie, Prof Mary Chiarella, Dr Andrew Child, Ms Hannah Dahlen, Ms Jennifer Dawson, Prof John Dwyer, Prof David Henderson-Smart, Dr John Hobbs, Dr Penelope Knowlden, Dr Des Mulcahy, Dr Elisabeth Murphy, Dr Louise Newman, Ms Margy Pym, Ms Megan Smith, Dr John Smoleniec, Ms Sue Stewart, Dr Lee Taylor, Prof Brian Trudinger, and Dr Ross Wilson.

NSW Birth Defects Register Advisory Committee 2004

Dr Kristine Barlow-Stewart (chair), Dr Susan Arbuckle, Dr Andrew Berry, Professor David Ellwood, Dr Graeme Morgan, Professor David Sillence, Mrs Ros Smith, Mr Stuart Purvis-Smith, Dr Elizabeth Sullivan, Dr Lee Taylor, Ms Susan Travis, Professor Ron Trent, Dr Janet Vaughan, Dr Michael Walsh, Dr Bridget Wilcken, and Ms Dianne Zalitis.