

ASM Awards

ASM David White Excellence in Teaching Award



Jack Wang

Jack Wang is a teaching-focused academic in microbiology, whose work focuses on widening science participation through undergraduate research and online education.

ASM Frank Fenner Award



Willa Huston

Associate Professor Willa Huston is a molecular microbiologist at University of Technology Sydney who leads a research team investigating chlamydia.



ASM Lyn Gilbert Award



Dan Knight

ASM Jim Pittard Early Career Award

Dan is a NHMRC Early Career Fellow at Murdoch University researching evolutionary and One Health aspects of infectious diseases epidemiology.

Katharina Richter

Dr Katharina Richter is an enthusiastic biomedical researcher. group leader, public speaker, science communicator and biofilm lover, whose goal is to develop new therapies in the fight against superbugs.



Christopher Day

Dr Christopher Day did his PhD in molecular cell biology of human bone cells before shifting his research focus to microbial glycobiolgy. His research on glycanbased host-pathogen interactions is focused on glycan-glycan interactions and bacterial toxin glycan interactions.

ASM Honorary Life Membership Award



Peter Traynor

Peter is the Regulatory and Technical Manager at Oxoid Australia, part of Thermo Fisher Scientific, currently ASM SA/NT Branch Chair, ASM representative to Standards Australia food microbiology committee, and National Convenor of the Culture Media Special Interest Group.



Richard Bradbury

Richard Bradbury is a Medical Laboratory Scientist and academic at Federation University. His research focus is parasitic diseases, diagnostics and global health.

Millis-Colwell Postgraduate Award

Lucy Furfaro



Dr Lucy Furfaro is a Postdoctoral Raine/Robson Fellow at the University of Western Australia where her research focuses on perinatal infections and exploring the potential for bacteriophages

ASM Distinguished Service Award



Dee Carter

Dee Carter is Professor and Head of Microbiology at the University of Sydney. She teaches mycology, microbiology and molecular biology, and undertakes research on pathogenic yeasts and moulds.







Liz Harry Liz Harry is

Liz Harry is Professor of Biology, at The ithree institute, UTS. Her research focuses on the adaptive changes to shape and form of bacterial cells in a range of environments, as well as the antibacterial and pre-biotic properties of medicinal honey.

Paul Sideris

Paul Sideris is a Senior Medical Laboratory Scientist and Quality Coordinator working in Microbiology and Infectious Diseases at SA Pathology.



Phil Giffard

Phil Giffard is involved in research, administration and teaching, at the Menzies School of Health Research, and The Charles Darwin University, College of Health and Human Sciences, in the wonderful Top End of Australia's Northern Territory.

Cheryl Power

Cheryl Power is a senior lecturer and teaching specialist in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Melbourne. She has taught microbiology to students enrolled in many different degrees, including Medicine, Dental Science, Optometry Chemical Engineering and Science.

Roy Robins-Browne

Roy Robins-Browne joined ASM as a MASM in 1982 and became a FASM in 1990. He was Registrar of the NEB from 1990–95 and ASM President from 2016–18.

PUBLISHING

Subscribe now to our FREE email early alert or RSS feed for the latest articles from *Microbiology Australia*.

www.publish.csiro.au/earlyalert