Australian Systematic Botany Australian Systematic Botany Society
Taxonomy, biogeography and evolution of plants

Editorial Structure

Editorial Board

All submissions to Australian Systematic Botany are assessed initially by the Editor-in-Chief and, if considered to lie within the journal's scope and to be of sufficient quality, are sent for external peer review, in consultation with members of the Editorial Board. This board comprises scientists and researchers whose expertise spans topics relevant to the journal's scope. Associate Editors make recommendations about publication of papers in the journal but the final decision is the responsibility of the Editor.


Associate Editors

  • Russell Barrett, Kings Park & Botanic Garden, Perth, Western Australia
  • David Baum, University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
  • Mike Bayly, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Jeremy Bruhl, University of New England, Australia
  • David Cantrill, Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, Australia
  • Darren Crayn, Australian Tropical Herbarium, James Cook University, Australia
  • Malte Ebach, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Tim Entwisle, Botanic Gardens Trust & University of Sydney, Australia
  • Maria Dalila Espírito-Santo, Botanical Garden of Ajuda, Lisbon, Portugal
  • John Huisman, Western Australian Herbarium, Australia
  • Brendan Lepschi, Australian National Herbarium, Australia
  • Thorsten Lumbsch, The Field Museum, Chicago, USA
  • Anna Monro, Centre for Australian National Biodiversity Research, Australia
  • Leon Perrie, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, New Zealand
  • Harald Schneider, Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China and Natural History Museum, UK
  • Jonathan Shaw, Duke University, Durham, USA
  • Jennifer Tate, Massey University, New Zealand
  • Kevin Thiele, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Michelle Waycott, University of Adelaide and State Herbarium of South Australia
  • Judy West, Centre for Plant Biodiversity Research & CSIRO, Canberra, Australia
  • Peter Wilson, National Herbarium of New South Wales, Australia


Submit Article

Use the online submission system to send us your manuscript.

Best Student Paper

The Best Student Paper published in 2017 has been awarded to Benjamin Anderson.