Australian Systematic Botany Australian Systematic Botany Society
Taxonomy, biogeography and evolution of plants

A new classification of the genus Eucalyptus L'Hér. (Myrtaceae)

M. I. H. Brooker

Australian Systematic Botany 13(1) 79 - 148
Published: 2000


A new formal classification of the genus Eucalyptus is presented. It divides the genus into seven polytypic subgenera: E. subg. Angophora, E. subg. Corymbia, E. subg. Blakella, E. subg. Eudesmia, E . subg. Symphyomyrtus, E. subg. Minutifructa and E. subg. Eucalyptus, and six monotypic subgenera: E. subg. Acerosa, E. subg. Cruciformes, E. subg. Alveolata, E. subg. Cuboidea, E. subg. Idiogenes and E. subg. Primitiva. The system is intentionally phylogenetic, proceeding from the generally assumed primitive ‘apples’ (E. subg. Angophora) and bloodwoods (E. subg. Corymbia) to the most advanced and modified group, the monocalypts (E. subg. Eucalyptus). The genus Corymbia Hill & Johnson is subsumed under Eucalyptus and is represented by E. subg. Corymbia (the bloodwoods) and E. subg. Blakella (the ghostgums).

New infrageneric taxa are diagnosed and their names typified, while brief digests in English are given for established taxa. Three species of the former genus Angophora have names with epithets preoccupied by names of other Eucalyptus species and new names are presented for them. The study is introduced by a brief historical summary of previous work in Eucalyptus, an apologia for the inclusion of Angophora, the reason for requirement of a new classification and notes on the nomenclature used. A new infrageneric rank, ‘supraspecies’, is introduced and is intentionally divorced in application (as a rank) from the similar sounding ‘superspecies’. All species recognised by the author are named and assigned in this system.

© CSIRO 2000

Export Citation Cited By (197)

View Altmetrics