Australian Systematic Botany Australian Systematic Botany Society
Taxonomy, biogeography and evolution of plants

A systematic revision of the mangrove genus Avicennia (Avicenniaceae) in Australasia*

NC Duke

Australian Systematic Botany 4(2) 299 - 324
Published: 1991


In Australasia (including Australia, New Zealand, New Guinea and other islands in the south-western Pacific) the mangrove genus Avicennia L. consists of five species: A. alba Bl., A. integra N. C. Duke, A. marina (Forsk.) Vierh., A. oficinalis L. and A. rumphiana Hallier f. Based on morphological characters and supported by allele patterns in isozyme studies (reported elsewhere), A. marina is divided into three varieties. Keys, descriptions, brief synonymy, descriptive figures and distribution maps are provided for each of the seven taxa.

* Aust. Inst. Marine Sci. Contrib. No. 520.

© CSIRO 1991

Export Citation Cited By (38)

View Altmetrics